Send in the Clowns: Clattenburg quite the hot button in worst referee poll after Leicester City King Power howlers

Leicester City fans are sure to be casting their votes in our worst referee poll for Mark Clattenburg after England’s top referee turned down two stonewall penalty shouts by the defending champions in a scoreless tie against Arsenal on Saturday.
My living room along with the entire world of Social media immediately erupted with complaints and barbs about the man who normally represents England at top international matches and is even called “England’s top referee” by some misguided souls.
The ranks of those who aren’t Clattenburg fans swelled by leaps and bounds in this weekend’s feature match after Leicester striker Danny Drinkwater had his legs cut out from him in the box late in the first half and then late in the match, as Leicester were pushing for a game-winning goal, Foxes Ahmed Musa appeared be bundled over from behind. It’s worth noting many observers weren’t so convinced about the second offence but many others were surprised that the Durham referee didn’t point to the spot. Send in the clowns, not Clattenburg.
Clattenburg mentor
Leicester manager Claudio Ranieri took the high road in his post-match comments stating “managers make mistakes, players make mistakes and referees also make mistakes”. The fans at King Power Stadium weren’t as forgiving and neither are those who vote in our poll.
Our fourth annual poll for worst English Premier League referee (2016-2017) was launched last weekend. Last year’s poll was captured by Kevin Friend  who defeated his closest competitor Mike Dean 265 to 214 out of 787 total votes cast. This year’s poll was launched on opening weekend and will remain open until the end of the season.
Follow our poll throughout the season for up-to-the-minute updates, share with friends and vote as many times as you like.


Who is the worst referee in the English Premier League (2016-17)?

  • Stuart Atwell (0%, 1 Votes)
  • Simon Hooper (1%, 4 Votes)
  • Mike Jones (1%, 5 Votes)
  • Paul Tierney (1%, 7 Votes)
  • Neil Swarbrick (1%, 10 Votes)
  • Roger East (2%, 12 Votes)
  • Keith Stroud (2%, 13 Votes)
  • Craig Pawson (4%, 24 Votes)
  • Martin Atkinson (4%, 29 Votes)
  • Robert Madley (5%, 36 Votes)
  • Andre Mariner (6%, 37 Votes)
  • Lee Mason (6%, 38 Votes)
  • Kevin Friend (6%, 38 Votes)
  • Anthony Taylor (7%, 44 Votes)
  • Jonathan Moss (7%, 49 Votes)
  • Michael Oliver (9%, 62 Votes)
  • Mark Clattenburg (16%, 105 Votes)
  • Mike Dean (31%, 205 Votes)

Total Voters: 672

Loading ... Loading ...