PK appeals denied as Young and United foiled by referee Foy

Manchester United midfielder Ashley Young had two separate penalty kick appeals denied by referee Chris Foy as the Red Devils continued their winless start to the Barclay’s Premier League season with a scoreless draw at Burnley on Saturday.
Young who has been gaining a bad reputation of late and was booked for simulation in last week’s 1-1 draw against Sunderland had a truly legitimate claim for a penalty kick denied in the 43rd minute.
The English international raced into the Burnley penalty area with the ball but defender Kieran Trippier delivered a strong shove to an off-balance Young, who hit the ground hard.
It was clearly a deliberate push by Trippier so many had expected the referee to point to the spot for what seemed a clear penalty, Foy instead waved play on.
The former champions continued to struggle under new manager Luis van Gaal and it seemed certain early on that the Lancashire-born referee was not ready to do the visitors any favours in putting an end to their bad start.
Foy would compound their frustration later in the 87th minute as he also turned down a disbelieving Young and United in what seemed to be another sure spot kick for a blatant hand ball.
As Young ripped a hard shot towards goal, the ball was blocked by the arm of Clarets’ defender Matthew Taylor.
Young didn’t not protest Foy’s first decision but was clearly enraged with the referee after Taylor’s obvious offence.
Some may argue that the ball first hit the Taylor in the chest before it made contact with his arm, but even after that point the ball was clearly still headed towards goal.
The Red Devils and their traveling fans at the Turf Moor were up in arms with the late decision by Foy as their newly-promoted hosts held on for the 0-0 result.

Don’t forget to vote in our poll for worst Premier League referee:

Who is the worst referee in the English Premier League?

  • Paul Tierney (0%, 3 Votes)
  • Craig Pawson (1%, 8 Votes)
  • Roger East (1%, 8 Votes)
  • Robert Madley (1%, 10 Votes)
  • Lee Probert (2%, 15 Votes)
  • Jon Moss (2%, 22 Votes)
  • Chris Foy (3%, 27 Votes)
  • Lee Mason (3%, 28 Votes)
  • Neil Swarbrick (3%, 30 Votes)
  • Andre Marriner (3%, 30 Votes)
  • Mike Dean (3%, 31 Votes)
  • Phil Dowd (4%, 39 Votes)
  • Michael Oliver (4%, 41 Votes)
  • Mark Clattenburg (5%, 45 Votes)
  • Mike Jones (6%, 54 Votes)
  • Anthony Taylor (6%, 56 Votes)
  • Martin Atkinson (17%, 162 Votes)
  • Kevin Friend (34%, 318 Votes)

Total Voters: 927

 Loading ...